facebook

formal recruitment

by: OSU #1

Now that COR is almost over, please post your FR questions here.

Posted By: OSU #1
Post Reply Report
Page 1 of 2
#1  by: rec letters   

So I am a sophomore and a transfer student. Are getting involved and am going to try to get the best grades I can, but I'm worried about the rec letter things. I know they help a lot especially if you're not a freshman. But I've asked around and really can not find any alumni that were in any of osu's chapters since no one in my family has gone greek or teachers that I can think of from high school or coaches. Is it going to hurt my chances without having them if I believe I can meet all the other credentials?

By: rec letters
by: for startersSep 10, 2013 3:38:51 PM

they dont have to have gone to OSU, just helps a little more, and then they do have to be an alumnae of the chapter. Like you can't have your aunt who was a DG at Clemson write you a letter for Kappa here, but she can write you one for DG here!

By: for starters
#2  by: ^^   

^ yes I knew that! Thanks though, thats why I asked though was because I really can't find anyone at all even who didn't go to osu since I'm hoping to be the first in my family and don't have any teachers/coaches that were in one.

By: ^^
#3  by: Try   

asking your mom's friends, people from church, your friends' moms, your siblings' friends' moms...surely out of those groups you will find some Greek women. You can also check to see if there are any Greek alumni organizations in your area (like XYZ alumni association of the Greater Insert Your Area Here).

Recs are not mandatory, but they do help put you in front of the sorority membership chairs/committees, and might help you stand out if you have good recs.

By: Try
#4  by: Recs