facebook

senior retention is at low

by: Y tho

Is it me or has a ridiculous amount of girls from each chapter’s 2016 pledge class dropped?? Everywhere started off with with around 85-100 and now most chapters are pushing 40-50 seniors even with the girls who joined their sophomore year.... I know some girls are going to leave over the course of time, it’s inevitable, but wow. I’m honestly surprised that many weren’t satisfied enough to stay or make their finances work for it if that was possible. I remember as a freshman my chapter has just about 300 girls after my PC joined and after recruitment this year we’re like 270.... and I’m in an upper mid tier house just for reference. It just makes me sad to see sorority like becoming less palatable to be people. I don’t even think COB compensates for it tbh. What do you think chapters could do to incentivize their girls to not drop as upperclassmen??

Posted By: Y tho
Post Reply Report
Page 1 of 1
#1  by: old lady   

Mizzou’s sororities just don’t cater to the needs of upperclassmen, and that should change. Your freshman and sophomore year you are trying to meet people, living in house, and your classes are a little easier, therefore doing things like pomping and required Greek week events are easy and fun. As an upperclassmen your priorities change and you don’t see your pledge class as much since you’ve moved out of the house. Pomping with a bunch of freshman frat guys and sitting through chapter meetings being told what to do by an exec board younger than you just doesn't have the same appeal anymore. I’m lucky to have my parents pay my dues so I’m going to stay, but I totally get why people leave. We need different expectations and programming for upperclassmen to better fit their priorities and needs.

By: old lady
by: Feel thisSep 16, 2019 1:12:18 PM