facebook

tips for having a 4.0 gpa while in a sorority?

by: Advice

In simple words, my sorority seems to have tons of events nearly everyday but I’m on the Pre-Medical track (no one knows this). I honestly have to spend extensive amount of time volunteering, shadowing, and doing things that Pre-Meds sort of have to do, while maintaining a super high GPA. But I also want to give back to my sorority and be a contributing sister, ya know? Since I’ll be paying so much, I want to make a difference. I’m a freshman, so I would appreciate advice because I don’t want to burn out. I’m sure there’s other women in my position too, or who’ve been through this stage!

Posted By: Advice
Post Reply Report
Page 1 of 1
#1  by: uhhh   

Please get the idea out of your head that you HAVE to have a 4.0 GPA. This isn’t high school. Aim for a 3.5 (or 3.7) and higher so you don’t stress yourself out and you’ll be golden.

If you are on scholarship and need to maintain a 4.0 to keep it... well.. I don’t have any advice.

Any medical or stem major is most likely going to take up a ton of your time. You have to find a balance. You can’t be involved in everything... Again, this isn’t high school. Don’t stretch yourself too thin because you still need to make time for yourself to just chill and relax.

By: uhhh
by: WrongSep 22, 2018 4:12:47 PM

You want to get into a good Medical program for Grad? You're ass better have a very high GPA.

By: Wrong
by: ?Sep 22, 2018 5:07:41 PM

A 3.7 GPA IS high. If you can’t manage the time commitment for a school AND a sorority, you should’ve either not joined a sorority or you should have picked an easier major! However, if you can manage the time, you just have to find what works for you. No one on here can tell you how you work so you should ask other pre-med sorority girls you know!

By: ?
by: wellSep 25, 2018 1:57:51 AM

3.7 is pretty low for med school applications.If your grades are that low you better have a killer MCAT

By: well
#2  by: doing it