facebook

new to rushing

by: New_Rusher

I'm really interested in joining a fraternity, but I'm new to this game as my family traditionally hasn't been involved in Greek life. I filled out my initial application, but do I need to apply to each house as well? Also, how the heck to rec letters work (do I need them from legacy people from each house or anyone?). In addition, I don't really care about ranking, but I want a balance between grades and partying (I need to get a 3.25 or above for scholarship $$$, and brotherhood is very important to me, more so than parties I'd say). Also, this is random, but do I really have to get "fratty" clothes? I don't have anything against it, I just don't own polo, vineyard vines, Lacoste etc (although I consider myself to be pretty well dressed). Thanks for the help guys and gals, proud to join the horned frog legacy

Posted By: New_Rusher
Post Reply Report
Page 1 of 1
#1  by: chio   

Welcome to TCU! I'm a girl so not exactly sure about how logistics for recruitment goes for the guys, but I can give my opinion on your other concerns. If you have an academic scholarship, I'm assuming grades are important to you. If so, I'd look at Beta, Sig Ep and Pi Kap. These are the frats known for smart guys but they also have very strong brotherhoods and are really involved on campus. These frats have super fun events and mixers but aren't hard core partiers like some of the other frats. They get crap from the other guys because they're gentlemen and care about more than just getting wasted. As far as wardrobe, you see a lot of khaki shorts and sperrys, but a mixture of polo, t-shirts and button downs work. Obviously anything purple is good too! Brands don't seem to matter that much with the guys. Good luck, go Greek and go Frogs!!!

By: chio
by: ToadJul 20, 2014 11:46:21 PM

A great answer/at least from this Greek girls point of view

By: Toad
#2  by: frawgz