facebook

After 4 years: I regret joining an org

by: Sorry

I graduated undergrad last month. I sincerely regret joining an org. I’m not going to make any accusations. I also don’t want anyone to think i’m dissuading others or pnms. After so many experiences, here are some reasons why and why not someone should join greek life.
Reasons why:
1) you will meet tons of people
2) you will volunteer/fundraise and do a lot of different activities.
3) Even if you’re introverted you will end up making friends (i.e. Become someone’s little, get a little, your pledge class bonding, etc). Sometimes friends can be lifelong.
4) Recruitment (the themes are fun).
Reasons why not:
1) Since you will meet a lot of people, there’s undoubtedly some of them that will choose to dislike you/bully you even if you didn’t do anything to them. The issue is that the ratio is larger than just a couple of mean kids from class. Say there’s 100 sisters in the org you meet. Say hypothetically, out of the 100 that you meet, 20+ may not come to like you. Rather than like maybe 2 kids from class being rude, now there. would be a whole large group being rude to you. That’s Because people choose to be immature.
2) I think many of us needed volunteer hours for class or to graduate, so some events will be helpful. Other times it just does not fit within your schedule. Other events like recruitment, big/little reveal will also not fit into your schedule lol. You will have to make compromises in time management and priorities. If someone says you can do it all, usually they are stressed, have more open schedules, or they often forgo something else to make it to some of these events. I’ve met people who are have demanding studies, classes, and schedules that will argue they were able to balance it all. But many of them also had no “free time” for anything else.