facebook

going through ffr rounds

by: PNM 16

What are things that are ok and not ok to talk about during rush rounds? Any good go to subjects? Will the girls be leading the conversations all the way? Also I'm an incoming sophomore not freshman, should I mention that right off the bat?

Posted By: PNM 16
Post Reply Report
Page 1 of 1
#1  by: hey   

Hey!

I rushed as a sophomore too so I feel you. Don't necessarily bring it up if it doesn't come up, but if they start asking what you're looking forward to about college or about your senior year then don't lie, just tell them you're a sophomore. I'm going to be honest, being a sophomore puts you at a disadvantage. There are some houses that will drop you for no reason besides that you're a sophomore, and at others you'll need to be exceptional to make it into their PC, it sucks but it's the way it is. However, there are other houses that genuinely don't care. I ended up in a house I love and we traditionally take a good number of sophomores and I think it works well for us because it helps keep the PC's from being too cliquey (I hang out with my fellow sophomores in the PC above me, and with the freshman that are in my PC). Try not to take it too personally if you get dropped, and keep your mind on the houses that do invite you back. In some ways being a sophomore felt like an advantage during recruitment because it was easier for me to be confident and talk to the other women as a peer.