facebook

social pledge

by: uisophomore

I am a freshman at UI and I already have an apartment for next year, but I'm thinking about rushing. What is the likelihood that I can rush and pledge while still living off-campus?

Also, which sororities are most open to sophomores? And will my current connections with the girls in each house have a huge impact on rush?

Posted By: uisophomore
Post Reply Report
Page 1 of 1
#1  by: great questions   

I'm wondering the same thing. I'm hoping someone will answer. I don't know anyone in a sorority, because I live off campus. But I will be a junior next year and would like to join. I'm hoping sororities will be open to me joining.

By: great questions
#2  by: KroseVandal   

As far as I know, almost all of the chapters on campus have some length of a live-in requirement that might span from a semester to a whole year or more. Many women go through formal and informal recruitment well after their first year as a student. I would suggest getting in contact with the UIdaho Greek Office or Britney Bowles to ask about any other questions you have before registering for recruitment.

By: KroseVandal
#3  by: all of them   

it really depends. Most of them are open to sophomore and people who live off campus. Keep an open mind. You will find a sorority.

By: all of them
#4  by: srawr   

I believe all houses require you to live in for at least your first year or so. (Mine was a year housing contract) They have to fill the space in their house or they are charged a fee by their National Headquarters/Housing Association. Definitely check with the Greek Life office for live in requirements!

Almost all are open to sophomores and a good chunk, even juniors. The right sorority for you won't care what year you are. What matters is whether or not you will make a good fit for each other.