facebook

Just a thought for PNMs

by: Grad

If you’re joining a chapter for the sisterhood and inclusivity, not all chapters are built the same on a NATIONAL level. Nationals is there in the work room during rush and they whisper very different things into the ears of exec based on what sorority it is. Some chapters are encouraged to drop PNMs based on looks, some chapters ban mentioning looks on pnm cards. Some chapters pre-drop for the second round based only on social media, some chapters are only allowed to drop based solely on conversation. Some chapters were founded with inclusive values, and some were not. There’s a lot of information you can get from the website of the nationals of the sororities as well, and if this is something that matters to you it’s something worth looking into. I graduated a while back and I ended up in a chapter with great values on the national level and it made a huge difference for me compared to my friends who joined other chapters. There were way less social media rules (what you can and can’t post) in my chapter than most, I wasn’t forced to endure conversations during rush week about whether girls were pretty enough to join our chapter, and there was no girls “hidden in the basement” during rush week or made to feel like they weren’t pretty or outgoing enough to rush PNMs. Girls weren’t pit against each other for who was allowed to rush the “good” PNMs and who had to rush the pre-drops also because there was no pre dropping. This is something people aren’t allowed to talk about really since internal stuff is all sworn to secrecy in all that but I have enough friends in other chapters that have spilled the beans and I know what’s going on. I just also see a lot of younger girls these days nervous about these kinds of things, and I wanted to share what I know. Honestly I hope it’s changed since I was in college, but if this info makes a difference for someone’s experience, then it’s worth sharing. Good luck queens! You’re all de