facebook

lookin to rush

by: New Student

I’m an incoming freshman and I’m interested in joining Greek life. I want to rush a frat that cares about grades but also has fun. I’ve heard some of the frats that have higher GPAs don’t pledge. I have friends a year ahead of me at schools with and without pledging, and the ones that pledged claim to be a lot closer to their brothers and pledge class. Is there a frat at UConn that fits this (decent gpa/pledging/fun)?

Posted By: New Student
Post Reply Report
Page 1 of 1
#1  by: Real Advice   

You're absolutely right that pledging creates strong bonds with your bros, and hard pledging creates even stronger bonds. The more established fraternities on campus like AEPi, ADP, ZBT are going to have better brotherhoods and more social offerings than other fraternities that have either no pledging or light pledging (see below) because their pledging is known to be more difficult. Though, the more challenging the pledging is obviously means that you're going to have a tougher time doing well in school that semester. If you stay on top of your classes during your pledge semester you should be fine, and even those fraternities probably won't mind too much if you miss an event because you have an exam the next day. Then again, pledging is only a semester and you'll have 7 more to make up for it, if necessary.

At the end of the day no matter what fraternity you choose, they will likely be concerned with grades, because if their brothers do poorly in classes that will reflect on the organization and could mean IFC repercussions for them. Because of this, I'd say all of the fraternities truly care about their brothers doing well, but only a couple are going to have that fun and brotherhood you're looking for because of their pledging process.

And in case you're wondering:

No pledge process: SigEp
Easy: DTD, Beta, Sammy, PiKapp
Moderate: FIJI, PhiDelt, AKL, AlphaSig
Difficult: ZBT, AEPI, ADP