facebook

a warning and a word of advice

by: Senior

With recruitment coming up in just a few days, I wanted to post this in the hopes that it might reach any PNMs who need to hear this and help them avoid my mistakes.

When I was a freshman, I had my heart set on three houses I considered to be top houses. I based my opinions off of what others said and I made the mistake of reading this website too.

I didn't end up getting a bid from any of those houses. In fact, I didn't get a bid anywhere, because I dropped out of recruitment before it was over. I didn't give any other houses a chance. I spent my freshman year watching all of my friends and everyone I knew enjoying their freshman year in their sorority.

Come sophomore year, I went through rush again. This time I kept most of the "top houses" through rush and ended up preffing at one of them and getting a bid there. At first I was elated because I had finally gotten what I wanted. But then I realized that it wasn't all that it was cracked up to be.

I felt like I didn't really fit in. It was hard to bond with my pledge class since they were all mostly freshmen. I realized there was a lot of negativity and cliquishness in my chapter. And I started to wonder if I'd made a mistake.

-continued-

Posted By: Senior
Post Reply Report
Page 1 of 1
#1  by: Senior   

Now I'm a senior and I still can't shake the feeling that I didn't make the right decision. I often wonder if I'd be happier if I had just stuck with recruitment as a freshman and given the other houses that did want me a chance.

Instead I got so caught up in shallow things like reputation and prestige (or what I thought at the time) that I allowed it to get in the way of the most important thing: finding a place where I feel like I belong and can develop lifelong friendships.