facebook

currently rushing

by: freshman

Hi I am a social freshman and I got dropped by 2 of the top sororities after the first day. all my friends pretty much got what they wanted but I'm not that invested in the process so I wasn't all that upset. I go out a lot and don't want my social life to be negatively affected if I don't join a sorority when all of my friends do (all my male friends are rushing frats too) or if I join a sorority that Doesn't have such a positive reputation on campus (Pi phi.) does anyone have any advice on how this might affect my social life? if I don't have my heart set on greek life, should I stick with the process? if I get a bid on bid night that I don't want to accept, what should I do?

Posted By: freshman
Post Reply Report
Page 1 of 1
#1  by: greek   

Joining a sorority (any sorority) definitely enhances girls' social lives, but it isn't necessary in order to have a good social life. Obviously you can still go out and have fun as a non-greek but you won't have access to closed parties, mixers, date parties, etc. unless invited by a member. Going greek also gives you access to a wider network of people both in your sorority and in the wider greek community.

Keep in mind that your freshman friends may or may not stay your friends throughout college. As sophomores a lot of people kind of drift away from the people they were close with freshman year.

I'm a proponent of sticking with the process and going greek, but don't join a sorority you don't like just to get letters. They don't need the negativity in their group. If you get a bid from a sorority you're not that excited about, go to bid night and check things out. If you still think it's not for you, then drop. No need to waste their time or your money if you can't get excited about the group and be an active contributing member.

By: greek
by: greek girlFeb 5, 2015 1:53:31 AM