facebook

sophomore status

by: PNM

I'm a sophomore,but not a transfer student, and I'm interested in participating in formal recruitment. I have a decent enough gpa (~3.2) but I'm wondering if I will automatically be cut from certain houses just because I'm a sophomore?

Posted By: PNM
Post Reply Report
Page 1 of 1
#1  by: no   

your chances are lower, but if the girls like you then its not an issue

By: no
#2  by: you'll be cut   

you're gpa isn't that good to carry you, you're a sophomore and I know my house works to recruit mostly freshmen. We are able to be selective, and honestly we want girls who will be around longer, and will pay more dues. We will take a few sophomores, but they will need to have that much better of a gpa.

By: you'll be cut
by: guyDec 29, 2013 2:26:30 PM

Ive heard this from multiple girls. How does bidding a freshmen over a sophomore give your chapter more dues? Yea the soph graduates a year earlier, but doesnt that just make another spot open for another girl to join?

By: guy
by: fyiDec 29, 2013 6:39:35 PM

idk how this girl would explain it, but for the chapter, if a girl graduates early (or is a sophomore) then they have to recruit sooner to fill her spot. Recruitment costs a lot of money, and it's risky for chapters to possible take on open spots if they don't get to recruit. Even if you're at total (110 this fall) being at 120 would be better.

By: fyi
#3  by: ?   

^ see some people on this website post exactly what you commented saying sophomores will be cut and will have a hard time because they are sophomores, meanwhile other posts say that sophomores should not worry and will be fine because it is still okay to rush as a sophomore..

By: ?
by: itDec 29, 2013 2:27:43 PM

It depends on which sorority you are talking about. Generally speaking, you have a much greater chance of being cut but if you really connect with the girls it is still a possibility. The Big 6 are/can be much more selective than middle tier.

By: it