facebook

Cold Dorms Question and Fraternity House Life

by: Parent

I would like to know about what it is like to live in a fraternity with cold airs or cold dorms? What are the pros and cons of that arrangement? I do understand the benefits of having dedicated study spaces as well as quiet spaces for sleeping. I noticed that a lot of the fraternities and sororities at ISU have cold dorms for all of their rooms or part of their rooms. I am a parent of a student and I am trying to encourage him to join a fraternity because I had a positive experience as a sorority member in college and living in a sorority house. I went to school in the the Northeast and I had only seen one cold dorm at my school (I think that sorority chapter has since been renovated and no longer has cold dorms). My brother's fraterity in the Northeast did not have cold dorms either. It seems that cold dorms are a more popular thing at large midwestern and southern schools. I was told that cold dorms exist because of tax benefits relating to Greek houses having more rooms dedicated to study space than dedicated to sleeping. Anyway, I would like a little more insight into cold dorm living. Also, in the case of fraternities that have the option of more traditional rooms vs. cold dorms, is it normally upperclassmen or officers who wind up in those rooms vs. cold airs? I would not discourage my son from joining a house based on the types of living/sleeping accomodations it has. It would be helpful to get some student insight into cold airs/cold dorms at ISU. Also, is it common for fraternities to have live-in requirements at ISU? I think my experience was enhanced greatly by living in-house, but my chapter did not have live-in requirements because it was not necessary since there were no shortage of girls who wanted to live in house. Thanks.

Posted By: Parent
Post Reply Report
Page 1 of 1
#1  by: Hi   

Hey, I’m in a sorority here :)