facebook

cost of sorority

by: freshgreek

I'm an incoming freshman girl that is very interested in rushing. There doesn't seem to be much information about the cost of sorority life at U of I, so I was wondering if anyone could give me any info about the average costs. Generally how much are dues per semester and on average how much does joining a sorority at Illinois cost the first year? Anything else I should know about the cost of joining a sorority?

Posted By: freshgreek
Post Reply Report
Page 1 of 2
#1  by: 14   

I rushed 4 years ago and the amounts have probably changed since then, but I can give you an estimate of what my house was. Also, please know that each house varies in how much it costs (based on socials, what is included, fees from Nationals, etc.). Cost sheets will also be handed out during recruitment. From what I can remember, my initiation fee was like $1200. There are other random fees such as a badge fee (maybe $150) and then any clothes or things you decide to order.

Dues can really range per house. I would say dues, parlor fees, furnishing fees, etc. should run at least $150-200 per month. Be prepared to spend A LOT on incidentals such as barn dance, formal, semi-formal, and any other socials that may not be included in the dues.

You should also be aware that you will be expected to spend money at philanthropies for your own chapter and other chapters. You'll also be expected to buy different clothing packages and clothes for different events. Some chapters include this in dues, but most probably don't.

It's also expected that you'll buy senior gifts ($50) and gifts for your pledge daughter ($300 or so). There are also a number of incidentals that will come up that are NOT included in your dues.

The cost of living in the house is NOT included in your dues, but your dues typically go down if you're living in. The cost of living in varies per house, but is usually about $3500-$5500 per semester.